## A RESOLUTION

1 Commending Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. for its 112 years of service and recognizing 2 January 13, 2025, as Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. Founders Day; and for other purposes. 3 WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. is a public service organization that was 4 founded on January 13, 1913, by 22 visionary collegiate women at Howard University in 5 Washington, D.C., dedicated to sisterhood, scholarship, and public service; and 6 WHEREAS, its founding members included Osceola Macarthy Adams, Marguerite Young 7 Alexander, Winona Cargile Alexander, Ethel Cuff Black, Bertha Pitts Campbell, Zephyr 8 Chisom Carter, Edna Brown Coleman, Jessie McGuire Dent, Frederica Chase Dodd, Myra 9 Davis Hemmings, Olive Jones, Jimmie Bugg Middleton, Pauline Oberdorfer Minor, Vashti 10 Turley Murphy, Naomi Sewell Richardson, Mamie Reddy Rose, Eliza P. Shippen, Florence 11 Letcher Toms, Ethel Carr Watson, Wertie Blackwell Weaver, Madree Penn White, and Edith 12 Motte Young; and 13 WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. has grown into a global sisterhood of over 14 300,000 initiated members with more than 1,000 collegiate and alumnae chapters across the

15	United States and internationally, including in England, Japan, Germany, the Virgin Islands,
16	Bermuda, the Bahamas, and South Korea; and
17	WHEREAS, the sorority's Five-Point Programmatic Thrust focuses on Economic
18	Development, Educational Development, International Awareness and Involvement, Physical
19	and Mental Health, and Political Awareness and Involvement, reflecting its enduring
20	commitment to positive social change; and
21	WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. has produced trailblazers and civic leaders,
22	including civil rights icons, educators, business leaders, and public servants dedicated to
23	justice and equality; and
23	justice and equanty, and
24	WHEREAS, distinguished members of the Georgia General Assembly who are proud
25	members of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. include state representatives Viola Davis
26	(D-Stone Mountain), Rhonda Burnough (D-Riverdale), Sheila Jones (D-Atlanta), Edna
27	Jackson (D-Savannah), MeKyah McQueen (D-Smyrna), and Terry Cummings (D-Mableton),
28	each of whom exemplifies the sorority's ideals of public service and leadership; and
29	
30	WHEREAS, the sorority's first public act was its participation in the historic 1913 Women's
31	Suffrage March in Washington, D.C., underscoring its legacy of civic engagement and social
32	action; and
33	WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. continues to advance its legacy of advocacy
34	through hosting signature events such as Delta Days at the State Capitol and by addressing
35	critical issues impacting communities across Georgia and the nation.

- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES that the members of this body commend Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. for its 112 years of impactful service; recognize January 13, 2025, as Founders Day; and celebrate the sorority's ongoing contributions toward building stronger communities through advocacy, education, and leadership.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Clerk of the House of Representatives is authorized and directed to make an appropriate copy of this resolution available for distribution to Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc.