

Jon Burns Speaker House of Representatives 332 State Capitol Atlanta, Georgia 30334

Office 404.656.5020

February 12, 2025

The President
The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20500

President Trump,

Thank you for your dedication to supporting our nation's rural communities—both here in Georgia and across the United States—which are the lifeblood of our nation. Time and again, you have delivered for rural Georgia, championing policies that strengthen agriculture, expand opportunities, and protect the values that make our communities great. We know that under your continued leadership, you will usher in a new golden age for every farmer, family, and citizen throughout the nation.

As you know, a series of historic severe weather events left behind catastrophic and generational damage to communities throughout Georgia and our neighbors in the Southeastern United States last year. In the aftermath of Hurricane Helene, initial reports estimated over \$6 billion in damage to our state's agriculture and forestry industries alone—not accounting for additional damage to our critical infrastructure, businesses, and homes destroyed by the storms.

The southeastern states spent months urging the Biden Administration to provide relief funding and disaster recovery resources to our citizens who were experiencing unfathomable loss. These efforts were ultimately met with resistance and hesitancy at every turn.

Just weeks later, former President Biden immediately declared that the federal government would cover 100 percent of the disaster response costs from the wildfires that ravaged neighborhoods and communities throughout Southern California while many families in the southeast remained without water, power, and basic necessities.

A natural disaster anywhere in our nation should compel a swift, unified response from our federal government, but instead, the Biden Administration put politics over the wellbeing of their fellow Americans.



Jon Burns Speaker

House of Representatives 332 State Capitol Atlanta, Georgia 30334

Office 404.656.5020

We are grateful for the tireless support of Georgia's Congressional Delegation and your administration in securing partial federal disaster relief for the individuals and communities impacted by Hurricane Helene, but Georgia's communities are still facing unprecedented losses and millions of dollars in incurred clean-up costs. Thanks to your leadership, the Federal Emergency Management Agency has extended the application deadline for North Carolinians affected by Hurricane Helene, and I ask you to extend the deadline for every area included in the Major Disaster Declaration, including 41 counties throughout Southeast Georgia.

Additionally, we are asking the administration to provide clarity on when federally appropriated disaster relief will be released to the state of Georgia. Hurricane Helene hit our state's farm families especially hard. Right now, the future is uncertain for far too many Georgia farmers, and without assistance, some of them will not make it through this growing season. We are confident that this administration, unlike the last, understands the urgency of the situation and will deliver for our farmers and all Georgians impacted by Hurricane Helene.

We appreciate your consideration of these requests, and thank you for your unwavering commitment to farmers and rural communities across our great nation. We look forward to working alongside your administration to make Georgia, and America, whole again.

Sincerely,

Speaker Jon Burns

Georgia's 75th Speaker of the House

Commissioner Tyler Harper

Georgia Agriculture Commissioner



Jon Burns Speaker

House of Representatives 332 State Capitol Atlanta, Georgia 30334

Office 404.656.5020

CC: The Honorable Jon Ossoff, U.S. Senate

The Honorable Raphael G. Warnock, U.S. Senate

The Honorable Earl "Buddy" Carter, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Sanford Bishop Jr., U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Brian Jack, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Hank Johnson, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Nikema Williams, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Lucy McBath, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Rich McCormick, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Austin Scott, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Andrew Clyde, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Mike Collins, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Barry Loudermilk, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Rick Allen, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable David Scott, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Marjorie Taylor Greene, U.S. House of Representatives

The Honorable Brian P. Kemp, Governor of Georgia